Uncategorized

Spring is here

Most day we take a walk around the lanes surrounding the small hamlet where we live and this afternoon there was no escaping the fact that spring is definitely here in UK. The grassy banks are full of daffodils and primroses, the birds are singing as if their lives depended on it and everywhere one looks there are new green shoots to be seen, catkins hanging heavy on the trees and for the first time in what seems like forever, there is no need of woolly hats or gloves.

It is a very rural spot, an agricultural area where sheep take precedence in the fields and as we stood and watched the playful antics of week old lambs I could feel my cares and worries slip from my shoulders. It caused me to wonder just how so many people survive and even thrive in the rush and noise of city life. I enjoy a visit to the city like most people, a visit to an art exhibition, a touch of shopping, a fine meal and maybe a new play or concert but after 48 hours my whole being cries out to be back in the peace of the countryside. I love the fact that we have no street lights and our dark skies are full of stars, we have very little through traffic and a chat with the neighbours often takes place in the middle of the road. When we sit in or garden we hear little but bird song and the occasional rumble of a tractor. I’m certain it wouldn’t suit everybody as we are finding out whilst the house is for sale, some of our viewers have actually expressed a fear of being so removed from the bustle of 21st century life. We, however, are busy trying to find a similar location so that we can recreate the quiet life , just be a little closer to the rest of the family.

I suppose it’s a good thing that we don’t all like or want the same thing, but for me the countryside wins every time. If there’s anyone out there who can explain the attraction of city life I’d love to hear from you.

We created a website to tell people a little more about our home as we felt the estate agent’s description left out the more intimate details of life in a small Cornish hamlet so do take a look if you’d like to peep into where we live: www.think-life.org.uk

 

 

5 thoughts on “Spring is here”

  1. Oh my gosh, your home looks so inviting! I can understand why you feel such respite in living here in this beautiful place. I think I am a person who enjoys living somewhere in between the life of the city & the life of the country, although as I am aging, I feel the pull much more to the quiet.

    We have lived in the same community for most of our lives & both of children now live away from home, one lives 1 1/2 hrs to the west of us & the other lives 3 1/2 hrs to the east. Our dilemma when we consider a move is in which direction do we go!

    Wishing you the very best of luck in selling your beautiful home!

    Like

  2. I think country living sounds just lovely! We live in a larger urban area, but in the “inner suburbs” so that we have a quiet neighborhood. I do enjoy the convenience of stores and restaurants close by, but I would also like to live in the peace of the country. I’m not sure which I would like best, but it sure would be nice to find out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

