Moving home

Time has a speed of its own

 

The Tortoise And The Hare

I’m certain that many of you can recall the famous tale of the Hare and the Tortoise and I have found myself thinking about this childhood tale many times over the last few months and in particular the last week. Those of you who follow my blog will know that we have been trying to sell our home in Cornwall and move closer to the family. This process has been ongoing for over a year and having made the momentous decision to sell and move , we never expected things to take such a time. Whilst we coped with the slow housing market of 2016, courtesy of Brexit and the accompanying uncertainty, listened to the myriad strange reasons why our house wasn’t quite right for people, time seemed to move more slowly, the days on occasions achingly long. Each new set of viewers would see our spirits rise only to be dashed again as they found us too rural, not rural enough, too quiet or not quiet enough, and we would retreat to lick our wounds and press on albeit slightly more slowly each time and with just a little less energy.

An optimist by nature even my initially positive attitude was struggling and whilst not saying it aloud I had come to believe that we would never find a purchaser and that my dream of being able to help my father in his final years and spend more time with the grandchildren, was slowly being extinguished. My husband though remained steadfast. In contrast to me he is perhaps not a pessimist, rather a pragmatist and he had never been convinced that we would get a quick sale as our house is ‘quirky’ and would only be bought when the right person walked through the door and fell in love. His mantra over the last year has been,” It will happen”. And now he has been proved right and in such an extraordinary way. The house has been bought by a couple who have not even viewed it in person!

Two weeks ago viewers were booked and all we were told was that they were viewing on behalf of their parents who were moving to Cornwall from Yorkshire to be closer to their family…. here the coincidences begin. We assumed that they would take a look, report back to their parents and that they would then visit at a later date if the feedback had been positive. Imagine our surprise when the next day we received a call from the agent to say that on the recommendation of their daughter, the older couple wished to make an offer. In the days that followed we went through the usual nonsense of house buying in UK where offers were refused, increased and accepted. In addition this couple had sold their apartment complete with furniture so then asked if they could purchase some of ours, in particular the larger pieces which we had already decided to part with as they wouldn’t suit the new home we were hoping to buy! So, after all these months of one step forward and three back we are now moving like the hare at breakneck speed; the chain is short, all are cash buyers and the consensus is for the move to happen as soon as possible, certainly within 6 – 8 weeks.

Time is now flying by as lists are made, removers booked, cupboards turned out and decisions made on what to keep and what can be sold, what treasured items cannot possible be left behind and which of those unwanted Christmas gifts can be donated to charity. Suddenly we have no time to spare and the days are filling up with chores, meetings and visits to the new house where there are many exciting things to decide on as we consult with the builder over kitchen fittings, wall colours and carpets.

I have always been a hare by nature, loving the satisfaction of a task completed and the magical moment of crossing an item from my list but the last year has taught me that there is no need to throw myself at every task, things will get done even if I approach the list more slowly and we will be ready on the appointed day. When I begin to feel over tired and stressed with that niggling ache in my shoulders and neck all I have to do is watch my tortoise, moving more slowly than me, taking time out for a cup of tea and to read the paper but still achieving all he set out to do. Every hare needs a tortoise.

2 thoughts on “Time has a speed of its own”

  1. I’m so glad you’ve sold your house! And I agree, the world needs hares and tortoises, and sometimes, we need to allow ourselves to be one or the other. Neither speed works for every situation we find ourselves in.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been thinking a lot about time lately, too. Primarily about how quickly it is going by and how much I thought I would have done by now, but haven’t still. This is mainly due to children’s birthdays and going to the wedding of one of my son’s good friends, whom I’ve known since he was eight. Anyway, glad you sold your house finally! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

